Passion for Action Leadership Award

November 13, 2013

Passion for Action awards at Wheelock CollegeOn Wednesday, November 6, 2013, Wheelock College hosted its fourth biennial Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. The event brought together more than 350 civic leaders, corporate executives, and philanthropists to demonstrate how Wheelock educates and inspires a community of students eager to lead as agents of change.

Keynote speaker Anuradha Koirala, the Founder and Executive Director of Maiti Nepal, who CNN recognized in 2010 as one of the TOP 10 Heroes of the world, spoke on the vital need for each of us to do whatever we can to address injustice and inequality where we find it. She started Maiti Nepal with her own savings in 1993 to provide services for both children and women who endure untold pain and suffering, often in silence, as a result of sex trafficking. Maiti Nepal provides direct services to 1,000 children every day.

Year Up and its founder, Gerald Chertavian, were presented with the 2013 Passion for Action Leadership Award to honor their work in closing the Opportunity Divide for thousands of young adults across the United States.

Funds raised through the event support the Passion for Action Scholarship Program for incoming Wheelock students from Greater Boston. These four-year scholarships are given to students who have demonstrated a strong commitment to community service and involvement. The scholarship is paired with a unique academic program that will develop these students' leadership and community service skills. The first Passion for Action Scholars graduated from Wheelock in May 2012, and there are currently 16 Passion Scholars enrolled, with an additional five scholarships awarded to each incoming class.

Leading sponsors of the event include The Jenzabar Foundation, Lee Kennedy Co., Inc., Sodexo, Santander Bank, Tufts Health Plan, BNY Mellon, Eaton Vance Investment Managers, Fidelity Investments, Hirsch Roberts Weinstein LLP, and The TJX Companies, Inc.

Pictured (Left to right): Bishwo Khadka, Maiti Nepal Director; Anuradha Koirala, the Founder and Executive Director of Maiti Nepal; Jackie Jenkins-Scott, President of Wheelock College, Gerald Chertavian, Founder and CEO of Year Up (Photo credit: Don West).

Learn more about the Passion for Action Scholarship Program at Wheelock College.

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Contact Us | 617-879-2000

© 2017 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.