Gordon Marshall Award Winners

May 23, 2013

Dr. Eric SilvermanDr. Lenette Azzi-LessingDr. Eric Silverman and Dr. Lenette Azzi-Lessing were named the 2013 recipients of Wheelock's Gordon Marshall Award. The prestigious fellowships are awarded each year to provide teaching and scholarship opportunities for tenured and tenure-track faculty members.

Gordon L. Marshall was president of Wheelock College from 1973 to 1983. During his presidency, Dr. Marshall worked to create academic resources for students and faculty. This fund, named in his honor, was established to support faculty teaching and scholarship.

Each spring, faculty members submit proposals for the Gordon Marshall Fellowship to the Academic Council. The Academic Council then reviews and selects the most deserving proposals.

This year's recipients are:

Dr. Eric Silverman
Dr. Silverman will be conducting ethnographic fieldwork in Papua New Guinea during summer 2014. This research will allow him to update and complete the writing of a book manuscript (which is under contract at The University of Hawaii Press) titled "Primitive Art in a Postmodern World: Totems, Tourists, and Sepik River Aesthetics." The manuscript will consist of 90,000 words, with 80 black-and-white images and a color insert of 16 pages.

Dr. Lenette Azzi-Lessing
Dr. Azzi-Lessing will be using her fellowship to write a book that addresses the cycle of child poverty in the United States. The book, "In Defense of Welfare Mothers: Breaking the Shameful Cycle of Poverty for Our Youngest Children," will examine the forces that have shifted public opinion to be largely against aiding low-income, single mothers, and why this must change in order to prevent long-term poverty for children.

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Contact Us | 617-879-2000

© 2016 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.