Wheelock College Commencement 2018!

Commencement was Friday, May 18! See taped versions of the full Undergraduate and Graduate ceremonies and more at wheelock.edu/commencement.

2013 Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner

Corporate Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Jenzabar Foundation Logo

Education Equals Prosperity Sponsors

Hamilton Company Logo

Tufts Health Plan Logo

Global Impact Sponsors

Lee Kennedy Co. Logo

Santander Universities Logo

Sodexo Education Logo


Partners for Change
The Boston Foundation
Hirsch Roberts Weinstein LLP
Wilmington Trust

Advocates for Action
Blaisdell Insurance
Canon Business Process Services
CSL Consulting, LLC.
Johnston Associates
Plymouth Rock Assurance Corporation
University Health Plans
Wheelock College Alumni Association


Thank you to all our sponsors.  For more information contact the Development Office at 617-879-2328 or lmarquis@wheelock.edu.

Passion for Action Program in the News

Meet the Passion for Action Scholars and see news coverage about their accomplishments.

Passion for Action LogoOn Wednesday, November 6, 2013, at 6:00 p.m., the mood was festive at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum, where Wheelock College held it's fourth biennial Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner. The College's mission—sustained for 125 years via the tireless work and devotion of the College's students and alumni – pulsated amongst the crowd. Honored this year were Year Up and it's founder Gerald Chertavian, a nonprofit dedicated to closing the opportunity divide that exists in our nation through an intensive training program that provides low-income young adults, ages 18 to 24, with a combination of hands-on skill development, college credits and corporate internships.

Anuradha Koirala, the inspirational founder and executive director of Maiti Nepal, was the keynote speaker for this year's Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner. She spoke humbly yet fervently about her cause: "Sex trafficking of girls and women – a heinous crime, a shame to humanity – is a global issue. If we do not join hands today to own this issue, we won't be able to save one victim."

In addition to honoring the Passion for Action scholars and program, Wheelock awarded five Jenzabar Emerging Leader Scholarships to deserving high school seniors for their commitment to their schools and communities. Recipients of the 2013 Emerging Leaders Scholarship are:

  • Aubri Alves, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
  • Hannah Braun, Beacon High School, Watertown
  • Henry Chavez, Boston Latin Academy
  • Nicole Kamal, Westfield High School
  • Kaeleigh Smith, East Bridgewater High School

The Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner aims to raise the profile of Wheelock in the Boston community while celebrating the spirit of the College through our students and those who support our mission.

With the funds raised through these events, the College supports the Passion for Action Scholarship Program for outstanding first-year students from Greater Boston. These four-year scholarships are given to students who have demonstrated a strong commitment to community service and involvement. The scholarship is paired with a unique academic program that will develop these students' leadership and community service skills. Click here to read more about the current Passion for Action Scholars, here for information about the Passion for Action alumni and here to read more about the Passion for Action Scholarship Program.

For More Information about the event, please contact Rebecca Lombardo at 617-879-2234 or rlombardo@wheelock.edu

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Contact Us | 617-879-2000

© 2018 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.