2007 Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner

Lead Sponsors
  • Emerging Leaders Award Sponsors
  • The Jenzabar Foundation
  • Shawmut Design and Construction
  • Anonymous (2)
  • Larry & Atsuko Fish
  • Ted & Beedee Ladd
  • Robert A. Lincoln
  • Education Equals Prosperity Sponsors
  • Anonymous
  • Keena & Chris Clifford
  • Tufts Health Plan
  • Full Sponsor List

Passion for Action Leadership Award Dinner

On Wednesday, November 14, 2007
Wheelock College hosted its first leadership award dinner at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. Passion for Action was an evening dedicated to telling the story of the College and the ways in which Wheelock graduates, students, and faculty are changing the world. Funds raised through the event will be used to support the Wheelock College urban scholarship program for deserving students from the Greater Boston area who are interested in teaching and working in Boston schools and agencies when they graduate.

Event Honorees:

Chris Gabrieli
A respected business and civic leader, Chris has shown extraordinary commitment to public service and an inspired understanding of the lifelong benefits of early childhood education and intervention. Chris is the Co-founder of Massachusetts 2020, a non profit organization whose mission is to expand educational and economic opportunities for children and families across Massachusetts. Click here to learn more about Chris.

Emerging Leaders
As part of the Passion for Action celebration, Wheelock College recognized emerging youth leadership in the Greater Boston area by honoring five exceptional high school students who have been leaders in creating change in their communities. The honorees were Laylin Chong of Brighton High School, Allison Colonna of Charlestown High School, Jacqueline Elysee of Madison Park Technical Vocational High School, Irene Jor of the Academy of the Pacific Rim Charter Public School, and Jason Sander of the Roxbury Latin School. Click here to learn more about the Emerging Leaders.

If you would like more information about Passion for Action or would like to learn about sponsorship opportunities for the 2011 Passion for Action event, please contact Lauren Marquis at 617-879-2328 or lmarquis@wheelock.edu.

  • Event Leadership:
    • Trish Karter, President and CEO, Dancing Deer Baking Co.
    • Ranch C. Kimball, President and CEO, Joslin Diabetes Center
    • Edward "Ted" Ladd, Director and Chairman Emeritus, Standish Mellon Asset Management
  • Honorary Event Chairs:
    • Governor Deval L. Patrick and First Lady Diane B. Patrick
  • Honorary Committee:
    • Senator Edward Kennedy and Mrs. Victoria Reggie Kennedy
    • Senator John F. Kerry and Mrs. Teresa Heinz Kerry
    • Congressman Michael E. Capuano
    • Attorney General Martha Coakley
    • Senate President Therese Murray
    • Speaker Salvatore F. DiMasi
    • Mayor Thomas M. Menino
  • Host Committee:
    • Judith and Robert Anderson
    • Henry Becton, Jr.
    • Edward J. Benz, MD
    • Sandy and Ted Bowers
    • Ellen Burnham
    • Maureen and Ed Coakley
    • Grace Fey
    • Larry Fish
    • Carol Fulp
    • Paul S. Grogan
    • Barbara and Steve Grossman
    • Frank Hayes
    • Tina and Bill Helm
    • Philip W. Johnston
    • Hubie Jones
    • Robin and Tripp Jones
    • Wendell J. Knox
    • Gloria and Allen Larson
    • Elizabeth and Paige L'Hommedieu
    • Robert A. Lincoln
    • Frances and Monroe "Bud" Moseley
    • Thomas P. O'Neill III
    • Tom Payzant
    • Colette A.M. Phillips
    • James Roosevelt, Jr.
    • Barbara and Robert Sallick
    • Jim Scott
    • Barry R. Sloane
    • Jonathan G. Sloane
    • Meg Vaillancourt

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Contact Us | 617-879-2000

© 2017 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.