The Jackie Jenkins-Scott Endowed Fund

For Service and Learning Journeys at Wheelock College

Upon her inauguration as the 13th President of Wheelock College, Jackie Jenkins-Scott chose the theme Global Reach, Local Touch. During her 12 years of leadership, she internationalized the Wheelock College experience.

Instituting the Presidential International Service Learning and Visiting Scholars program, entering into a long-term partnership with the City of New Orleans, and partnering with the City of Boston to manage the Mattahunt Community Center, Jenkins-Scott always understood that the true benefits of a Wheelock education include experiential learning opportunities available outside the classroom environment.

Travel, serve, and learn experiences have proved to be life-changing, transformative opportunities that contribute to students' academic success and expand upon faculty expertise.

Each year Wheelock offers special service learning trips to communities in New Orleans and Puerto Rico, as well as countries around the globe such as South Africa, Ireland, Belize, Germany, Guatemala, Sweden, Benin, and Turkey. Typically offered during Spring Break or at the end of the academic year, these trips allow students to become immersed in a culture without a full-semester or yearlong commitment. Students who have participated cite these trips as some of the most profound learning experiences of their Wheelock education.

To honor her commitment to travel and service, the Board of Trustees created the Jackie Jenkins-Scott Endowed Fund. This fund allows current students and faculty to engage in service learning trips, conferences, and other travel outside the Wheelock Community. Students and faculty apply for financial awards to offset the cost of these transformative experiences. Recipients document their travels through photos and stories that can be shared with other students, faculty, and supporters.

Anonymous (1)
The Alumni Association
Judith Parks Anderson '62 and Robert Anderson
Deborah Lisansky Beck
Stephanie Bennett-Smith and Orin R. Smith*
Lisa McCabe Biagetti '80
Grace Bird
Joyce Pettoruto Butler '73
Capers Catering
Margaret Graham Caswell '69
Sandra Hopkins Clausen '60/'85MS
Keena Dunn Clifford '68 and Chris Clifford
Jane Boyle Cohn '71
Colleges of the Fenway
Patricia S. Cook, Ph.D. '69
Tina Feldman Crosby '67
Inez Deering
Julie Bolduc DeFilippo
Delta Dental
Carol Armstrong Dillon '67 and Thomas Dillon
Catherine Donaher and Robert M. Hollister
Zelinda Makepeace Douhan '63/'75MS
Barbara Tarr Drauschke '72
Norma Brawley Dugger '61
Tina Durand
Barbara Elliott Fargo '52
David Fernie
Kibebe Gizaw
Gretchen Maassen Gregersen '60
Gwynne H. Guzzeau '93MS
Katherine Hala
Judith O. Hall '69
Marjorie Hall
Sara Mann Hanscom '77
Adrian and Angela Haugabrook
Tina Morris Helm '64/'98MS and Bill Helm
Janis Hersh
Anne Wingle Howard '57
Christina Cox Howard '05 and Geoffrey Howard
Edith Hall Huck '48
James Jennings
Jane Kuehn Kittredge '63
Mary C. Kloppenberg '83MS
Ted and Beedee Ladd
Elizabeth Wheeler L'Hommedieu '54 and Paige L'Hommedieu
Robert and Carol Lincoln
Lisa Lobel
Margaret DeLuca Loughead '54
Arlene Keizer Lovenvirth '58
Alice Stasio Macfarland '74
Ann L. MacVicar '65
Marian F. Mandell
Marion Turnbull Mangels '59
Lauren A. Marquis '11MS
Dr. and Mrs. Gordon Marshall
MASCO Services Inc.
Britney F. Masse '10/'15MS
Mary McCormack '89
MCPHS University
Vicki Caplan Milstein '72
Nora Moreno Cargie
Ann Moritz
Robin Mount and Mark Szpak
Karen Mutch-Jones '82
Frances Nichols '63
Delia O'Connor
Roxana Oppenheimer Day '78
Michelle L. Ormerod
Joanna Sharkey Oshman '98
Claire Ramsbottom
Jennifer Carr Rice and George L. Rice Jr.
Marita Rivero
Lori Ann Saslav
Donna Craveiro Sawyer '78
Roy and Lisa Schifilliti
Thekla Reese Shackelford '56
Kaitlyn Silva ‘16
Susan Bruml Simon '73
Mary Barber Stone '70
Karen S. Sturges '87MS
Charlotte Lowell Stynes '69/'91MS
Patricia Mucci Tayco '78/'93MS
Kate and Ben Taylor
Daniel S. Terris
Lauren Thorman
Valerie Thornhill-Hudson
Lisa and Rex Thors
Veking B. Tollette
Ann Tucker Walker '56 and Donald Walker
Joyce Wells ‘72MS
Scott Wennerholm
Daphne Hastings Wilcox '65
Ayesha M. Wilson '12/'13MSW
Elizabeth Bassett Wolf '54
Karen Worth
Heidi R. Wyle
Azzie Young

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Contact Us | 617-879-2000

© 2017 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.