Academic Calendar

2016 – 2017 School Year

Fall | Spring | Summer

FALL 2016 SEMESTER

August 2016
Mon - Thur August 22 - September 1 Summer Bridge Program
September 2016
Saturday September 3 New Student Move-in, 9AM-noon (first-years and transfers)
Monday September 5 Returning Student and Graduate Student Move-in, 10AM-2PM
Monday September 5 Labor Day Holiday
Tuesday September 6 Convocation
Wednesday September 7 Fall Semester begins (classes meet)
Wednesday September 14 Last day to add full-semester undergraduate courses
Wednesday September 21 Last day to drop full-semester undergraduate courses
Wednesday September 28 Spring and Summer 2016 Incomplete grade conversion
October 2016
Monday October 10 Autumn Holiday (no classes)
Fri - Mon October 21 - 31 Undergraduate mid-semester evaluations
Fri – Sun October 14 - 16 Fall Family Weekend
Mon – Fri October 17 – November 4 Undergraduate course selection advising
Tuesday October 25 1st 7-week undergraduate courses end (classes meet)
Wednesday October 26 2nd 7-week undergraduate courses begin (classes meet)
Monday October 31

Graduate Spring Course Registration begins

Last Day to add Capstone (Education majors)

November 2016
Wed - Fri November 2-4 Undergraduate Spring Course Selection begins 
Mon - Mon November 7-14 Colleges of the Fenway Undergraduate Spring Cross-Registration Week
Fri November 11 Veterans' Day Holiday (No Classes)
Wed November 16 Last day to withdraw from full-semester courses (undergraduate and graduate)
Wed – Fri November 23 – 25 Thanksgiving Holiday Break (no classes)
Mon November 28 Classes Resume
December 2016
Friday December 16 2nd 7-week undergraduate courses end (classes meet)
Friday December 16 Fall semester ends (classes meet)
Saturday December 17 Undergraduate Reading Day (no classes)
Monday December 19 Graduate courses meet on a Monday schedule
Mon - Tues December 19 – 20 Undergraduate examination period
Wednesday December 21 Final Fall semester grades due for degree candidates and non-degree candidates (10:00 am)
Friday December 23 Degrees Conferred

SPRING 2017 SEMESTER

January 2017
Monday January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday (no classes)
Tuesday January 17 Spring semester begins (classes meet)
Wednesday January 25 Last day to add full-semester undergraduate courses
February 2017
Wednesday February 1 Last day to drop full-semester undergraduate courses
Wednesday February 8 Fall 2016 Incomplete Grade conversion deadline
Monday February 20 President's Day (no classes)
March 2017
Friday March 3

Last Day to add Capstone (Education majors)

Mon – Fri March 6 – 10 Spring Break
Fri - Sun March 10 - 19 Undergraduate Mid-semester evaluations
Monday March 13 Classes resume
Monday March 13 1st 7-week undergraduate courses end (classes meet)
Tuesday March 14 2nd 7-week undergraduate courses begin (classes meet)
Mon-Friday March 20 - April 7 Undergraduate course selection advising
Wednesday March 29 Last day to withdraw from full-semester undergraduate and graduate courses
April 2017
Monday April 3 Graduate Summer and Fall course registration begins
Wed – Fri April 5 – 7 Undergraduate Summer and Fall course selection begins
Mon – Fri April 3 – 7 Colleges of the Fenway Undergraduate Summer and Fall Cross-Registration Week
Monday April 17 Patriot's Day (no classes)
May 2017
Monday May 8 2nd 7-week undergraduate courses end (classes meet)
Monday May 8 Spring semester ends (classes meet)
Tuesday May 9 Undergraduate Reading Day (no classes); Graduate courses meet on a Monday schedule
Wed – Thur May 10 – 11 Undergraduate examination period
Monday May 15 Final Spring semester grades due — graduating students only (10:00 am)
Wednesday May 17 Final spring semester grades due — non-graduating students (10:00 am)
Friday May 19 Commencement
Monday May 22 Summer Session 1 Begins (classes meet)
Monday May 29 Memorial Day Holiday (no classes)

SUMMER 2017 SEMESTER

June 2017
Friday June 30 Summer Session 1 Ends (classes meet)
Wed – Thur TBA FYI Session 1
Sat – Sun TBA FYI Session 2
July 2017
Monday July 3 Summer Session 2 Begins (classes meet)
Tuesday July 4 Independence Day Holiday (classes do not meet)
Thurs July 6 Summer Session 1 Final Grades Due (10 am)
August 2017
Friday August 11 Summer Session 2 Ends (classes meet)
Monday August 14 Summer Session 2 Final Grades Due — All students (10:00 am)
Friday August 18 Degrees conferred
Mon – Thur August 21 – August 31 Summer Bridge Program

inspire a world of good

200 Riverway, Boston, Massachusetts 02215 | 617-879-2000
© 2016 Wheelock College is a registered trademark.